This week as been pretty crazy. Not only with the puppies, but taking care of a hurt Momma (i'll explain a little later) and with getting ready for Christmas too. Unfortunately my husband wasn't in town at all this week, so I didn't get any time to take very many photos, but I do have a few that I will share. All the babies have grown so much in size. Most of them will whine when another one lays on top of the other. They all weigh between 2 and 3 pounds now. Their ears and eyes are opened now and they love to crawl around in their whelping box. It won't be long at all before I have to get them a bigger place to live! They are finding out that they can make quite a bit of noise if they want, but luckily for me, they don't do it too often, unless something is wrong, or they are having bad dreams. They are recognizing who Draigah is and come to her very quickly when they see or feel her stepping towards them. They also got their first dose of worming medicine at the beginning of the week. Needless to say, they hated it. But, they better get used to it, cause they will have 3 to 4 more to come before they find new homes. They better try to make the best of it though, because before they (and I) will know it, they will be getting shots! 


               Late in the day, on December 16, Draigah got hit by a car. She never just runs into the road, but for some reason this time she did. She might have been thinking about something else, but I don't know. From 20 feet off the road, she just ran straight out into the road and got clipped by a car. After she was hit, she rolled off the road and was trying to get up and farther away but she couldn't. Of course the whole time I was freaking out and crying and holding her. She was sill able to walk and put some pressure on her front left leg, but I could tell she was in pain. I loaded her up in my Aunts truck and rode with her back to my house. She laid down in the living room and I doctored up her front left leg and back left leg, then she immediately got up and went and saw her babies. The next morning, my mom came over and we took her to the vet. He said that it looked like she just had bruising and gave her some anti-inflammatory and pain medication. For the first two days, I brought all of her food and water to her, helped her in and out of her whelping box to be with her pups, on and off he couch and carried her outside and back in. Since day two, she has gotten more independent and keeps getting better everyday. 


Her outside injuries were scrapes on her back paw and a heart shaped place on her front leg. Here are the photos from that followed by the photos I took this week.
Picture




Leave a Reply.

    Picture

    The Puppy Blogs

    Here you will find a collection of weekly puppy diaries that you can use to follow us as we raise these 11 puppies from day 1 to 8 weeks. Or, come back and look later for updates as the puppies grow up.

    Previous Posts

    January 2010
    December 2009

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed